Ladakh

Ladakh: India’s little Tibet

Dreamland of all fans of the Himalayas, a true alternative to oppressed Tibet – here people are still free to do and think whatever they want. Religion is really lived in the Buddhist monasteries, not only a show for tourists. If you’re outside and on the move you’ll meet soldiers and police men (Ladakh is a sensitive border region after all) – but they are generally very friendly to westerners and guests from abroad.

basgoBasgo in beautiful scenery (c) Phunchok Motup

Ladakh is the home of Tashi and the second home of his wife Daniela. Nowhere in India we feel more secure, we are absolute experts and know our way around the state, we know it like the back of our hand.

Ladakh is a simple travel country in the furthest north of India, people are friendly, the climate very agreeable for westerners. The only thing worrying for travellers is the high altitude of 3,500 m on average. But if you follow some simple rules, you will adapt to the high altitude in a short time. Altitude sickness is very uncommon.



The Himalayas and the culture of Tibetan Buddhism have been fascinating people for a long time. Ladakh can combine those two in a very harmonious and carefree way.

ladakhDaniela and two of her children at Pangong Lake

spacer

Facts & Numbers


Area: 96.000 km2

Capital: Leh

Population: 250.000

Religion: 50% tibetan buddhists, 45% muslims, 5% other religions

Best time of travel: May-October (for Trekking: June-September)

Climate: Ladakh is the only region without monsoon rain in India, generally it is arid and has a low amount of precipitation

Day temperatures in Sommer: up to and above 30 degree Celsius

Im Changthang (c) Markus BrixleChangthang (c) Markus Brixle

Ladakh is a state in the furthest north of India at the border of Pakistan and China. Politically it is a part of Jammu & Kashmir, geografically the continuation of the Tibetan High Plateau. Two of the mightiest mountain chains in the world are meeting here at an altitude between 5,000 and 7,000 meters: the Himalaya and the Karakoram.

Another meeting happens between Islam and Tibetan Buddhism.The western part of Ladakh is inhabited by Muslims, the eastern part mainly by Tibetan Buddhists.

Ladakh is often called Little Tibet. This description might be accurate for the size only, but Ladakh doesn’t have to hide behind its bigger brother. Many travellers appreciate Ladakh for its active culture, very much alive opposed to Tibet, where this culture cannot be alive anymore.

Tibetan Buddhism is thriving here. Monasteries are on top of sightseeing lists and there are as many monasteries as villages, every village has its own.

The three monasteries you should see while travelling Ladakh are: Thikse (one of the most beautiful), Hemis (the wealthiest) and Alchi (one of the oldest).

If you are interested in history you will be fascinated by the palaces of the former kings, the fortress ruins of souvereigns, petroglyphs from long ago and the flair of caravans who were travelling through the country for centuries. Even today you can feel that flair at the bazar of Leh.

Hearing the name High Altitude Desert might let you assume that you won’t see much diversity in this barrend land. But that assumption is completely wrong. The intense rays of the sun can create wonderful colored pictures on the rocks. You can find green oasis valleys, steep mountains, wide plains of the Changthang High Plateau, turquoise-blue and green-shimmering salt lakes at 4,000 m, sand dunes with slowly-roaming camels in the north of Ladakh, in Nubra and remote mountain villages in legendary Zanskar. This and much more is impressing travellers and photographers from all over the world.

 

3R2A7681Hemis Festival

And then there are the people of Ladakh. Friendly, but not intrusive; they are calm and not loud; just like their country. In many faces you can see the hard life lived at a high altitude, under a hot sun. But Ladakhis like to laugh, even while working hard – in summer there is a lot to do. Encounters with the people of Ladakh will always stay in your memory.

You can discover all that by boot, in a jeep, by means of motorcycle or bicycle – and even by airplane on your way to the capital Leh. All you need is time!

Experience Ladakh actively – expeditions, trekking, sightseeing and more

The mountains are beckoning! Ladakh is a paradise for mountaineers. Walking, hiking, climbing – only by foot you can get to the otherwise inaccessible regions and places like remote mountain villages, passes with prayer flags blowing in the wind, monasteries built like honeycombs sticking to the bare rock, etc.

These diverse landscapes are offering mountain experiences for almost everyone: easy, agreeable tours for beginners and slow hikers and strenuous, challenging treks for advances climbers, adventurous trekkers, tours for the young or the old, for those loving solitary areas or for those wanting to hike from village to village. Everything is possible!

In addition to that you can do a lot of biking in Ladakh, especially mountain biking. Well trained bikers drive the Manali-Leh-Highway over four 5,000 m passes, others can take a tour of Indus valley or descend from Kardong La pass in the north of Ladakh. Experienced mountain bikers can also take tours along some trekking routes.

If you like more speed, take an Enfield (classic Indian motorcycle) and discover Ladakh. On the other side of the speedometer are the pony or the camel – and a trip by rafting boat along the Indus river in Zanskar – all with zero exhaust fumes!

At the same slow pace you can discover Ladakh while meditating, doing Yoga or living and working with a Ladakhi family.

 

nomadIn a nomad’s tent (c) Josef Reifenauer

Further information on Ladakh you can find on our partner site of the Austrian Ladakh-Gesellschaft, under Maps, Books & Links, Articles & Downloads and our BlogNews & Infos. Of course we can provide you personally with more information – please don’t hesitate to contact us >> Contact

Our group and individual tours to Ladakh

This are our tours to Ladakh that are presented on our website. But we can arrange much more than displayed here. Simply get in touch with us for your very individually designed tour!

Contact us




If you want to travel to Sikkim and/or Darjeeling or if you have general inquiries, don't hestitate to contact us. We like to receive emails 😉
We usually reply within 24hrs, rarely it takes longer. Only when we travel, it might be taking a bit more than just one working day.

Ladakh

Ladakh: Das kleine Tibet Indiens

Traumland aller Himalaya-Fans, eine wahre Alternative zum unterdrückten Tibet, denn hier sind die Menschen frei in ihrem Tun und Denken. In den buddhistischen Klöstern wird Religion nicht zur Schau getragen, sondern gelebt. Und draussen – unterwegs – begegnet man zwar auch Soldaten und Polizisten (immerhin ist Ladakh eine sensible Grenzregion) – doch sind sie den westlichen Gästen gegenüber üblicherweise freundlich gestimmt.

basgo

Ladakh ist die Heimat von Tashi und zur zweiten Heimat seiner Frau geworden. Nirgendwo sonst in Indien fühlen wir uns daher sicherer. Hier sind wir absolute Experten. Hier kennen wir uns besser aus als sonstwo.

Ladakh ist ein einfaches Reiseland im äußersten Norden Indiens, die Menschen sind freundlich, das Klima für uns WestlerInnen recht angenehm. Einzig die Höhe von durchschnittlich 3.500m macht einigen Sorgen. Oft unbegründet, denn wer sich an nur wenige Regeln hält, passt sich schnell an.



Der Himalaya und die Kultur des tibetischen Buddhismus faszinieren seit jeher. Ladakh vereint beides auf eine harmonische und unbekümmerte Weise.

ladakh

spacer

Fakten & Zahlen

spacer
Fläche: 96.000 km2

Hauptstadt: Leh

Einwohner: 250.000

Religionszugehörigkeit: 50% tibetische Buddhisten, 45% Muslime, 5% andere Religionen

Beste Reisezeit: Mai-Oktober (für Trekking: Juni-September)

Klima: Ladakh ist als einzige Region in Indien nicht vom Monsun betroffen. Generell ist Ladakh ein trockenes Gebiet mit geringen Niederschlägen.

Tagestemperaturen im Sommer: bis über 30 Grad Celsius

Im Changthang (c) Markus Brixle

Ladakh liegt im äußersten Norden Indiens an der Grenze zu Pakistan und China. Politisch ist es ein Teil von Jammu & Kashmir, geografisch die Fortsetzung des tibetischen Hochplateaus. In Höhen zwischen 5.000 bis über 7.000 Meter begegnen sich zwei der mächtigsten Gebirgsketten: Himalaya und Karakorum.

Hier trifft auch der Islam auf den tibetischen Buddhismus. Der westliche Teil Ladakhs ist von Muslimen bewohnt, der östliche Teil vorwiegend von tibetischen Buddhisten.

Ladakh wird gerne als Klein-Tibet bezeichnet. Auf die Größe bezogen mag die Bezeichnung zutreffen, doch ansonsten muss sich Ladakh nicht hinter seinem großen Bruder verstecken. Viele Tibet-Reisende schätzen Ladakh wegen seiner gelebten, aktiven Kultur, die sie gerade in Tibet nicht mehr finden.

Hier lebt der tibetische Buddhismus. Klöster stehen also ganz oben auf der Liste der Sehenswürdigkeiten. Und davon gibt es so viele wie Dörfer, denn in jedem steht zumindest eines.

Das Dreigestirn der Klöster, die man als Ladakhreisende/r gesehen haben sollte, sind Thikse (eines der schönsten), Hemis (das reichste) und Alchi (eines der ältesten).

Historisch Interessierte faszinieren die Paläste der ehemaligen Könige, die Ruinenfestungen der Fürsten, Felszeichnungen aus längst vergangenen Zeiten und der Flair der Karawanen der vergangenen Jahrhunderte, der noch heute am Basar von Leh zu spüren ist.

Wer Hochgebirgswüste hört, vermutet ein ödes Land, an dessen kargen Bildern man sich rasch satt gesehen hat. Falsch vermutet. Die intensive Sonneneinstrahlung schafft selbst auf nackten Felsen Farbbilder. Dezent aber nicht minder schön. Grüne Oasentäler zwischen schroffen Bergwelten, weite Ebenen des Hochplateaus von Changthang, türkis-blau-grün schimmernde Salzseen auf über 4.000m Höhe, Sanddünenwelten mit langsam trottenden Kamelen im nördlichen Ladakh, in Nubra, und abgelegene Bergdörfer im sagenumwobenen Zanskar. Das und noch vieles mehr fasziniert nicht nur FotografInnen aus aller Welt.

ladakh

Und dann sind da natürlich die Menschen von Ladakh. Freundlich, aber nicht aufdringlich, sie sind ruhig, nicht schrill. Wie ihr Land eben. In vielen Gesichtern hat sich das harte Leben auf großen Höhen und unter praller Sohne tief eingezeichnet. Die Ladakhi lachen gern, auch bei der Arbeit, von der es im Sommer genug gibt. Begegnungen mit den Menschen von Ladakh, sind Erinnerungen, die bleiben.

Entdecken lässt sich all das zu Fuß, im Jeep, auf dem Motor- oder Fahrrad und schon ganz zu Beginn beim Anflug auf die Hauptstadt Leh. Nur Zeit braucht man eben dafür!

Ladakh aktiv erleben – Expeditionen, Trekking, Sightseeing und mehr


Der Berg ruft! Ladakh ist ein Paradies für BergfreundInnen. Gehen, Wandern, Bergsteigen. Nur zu Fuß erreicht man auch Gegenden, die sonst unerreichbar bleiben, fern abgelegene Bergdörfer, Pässe mit wild wehenden Gebetsfahnen, Klöster, die wie Adlerhorste am blanken Felsen kleben.

Durch seine vielfältigen Landschaften bietet Ladakh Bergerlebnisse für so gut wie jede/n: leichte, angenehme Touren für AnfängerInnen und anstrengende, herausfordernde Treks für Fortgeschrittene, etwas für gemütliche Wandersleute und anderes für abenteuerlustige BergsteigerInnen, für jung und alt, für die, die einsame Gegenden lieben und die, die lieber von Dorf zu Dorf wandern.

Daneben lässt es sich in Ladakh auch gut Radfahren – am Besten mit dem Mountainbike. Hartgesottene tun dies am Manali-Leh-Highway über vier 5.000er Pässe. Für andere ist eine Tour im Industal oder eine Abfahrt vom Khardong La, dem Pass nördlich von Leh eine bessere Alternative. Für erfahrene Mountainbiker bieten sich auch Radtouren entlang einiger Trekkingrouten an.

Etwas zügiger ließe sich Ladakh auch auf dem Motorrad – ganz klassisch auf einer Enfield – entdecken. Mit nur 1 PS auf einem Pony, auf dem Rücken eines Kamels oder im Raftingboot entlang des Indus und Zanskar gehen Erkundungstouren auch ohne Abgase.

Auch gemächlicher lässt sich Ladakh erfahren: beim Meditieren, Yoga oder Mitleben und -arbeiten bei einer ladakhischen Familie.

nomad

Weitere Infos zu Ladakh finden Sie auf der Partnerwebseite der Österreichischen Ladakh-Gesellschaft, unter Karten, Bücher & Links, Artikel & Downloads und News & Infos. Weiters informieren wir Sie auch gerne persönlich >> Kontakt

Unsere Gruppen- und Individualreisen nach Ladakh

Gerade im Bereich Individualreisen gibt es darüber hinaus noch unzählige weitere Reisemöglichkeiten. Gerne basteln wir an Deiner ganz individuellen Reise.

Kontaktiere uns




Wenn du Fragen zu Sikkim & Darjeeling hast – auch wenn sie nur allgemeiner Natur sind – darfst du dich gerne an uns wenden.

Wir antworten normalerweise am selben Tag.
Aber: Ausnahmen bestätigen die Regel 😉
Sei uns daher nicht böse, wenn es einmal etwas länger dauert.