The gastronomical Gem called Delhi

A foodie’s path to ecstasy

Eat with Debashree Chatterjee, who tells us her favorite 10 restaurants in Delhi

Delhi’s rich and diverse culinary heritage reflects hues of various cultures coming together as a single vibrant mosaic. With many gastronomic traditions – a result of many kingdoms and rulers making this city their own at different times in history – Delhi is often dubbed as the culinary capital of India. It has a layered cuisine, with food not just served in hotels and restaurants. There are innumerable family recipes which have been passed on from generation to generation; and strolls on the streets would have been boring had it not been for the lip-smacking roadside food luring us. Many migrated communities from lands near and far, narrow and wide have led to inclusion, adaptation and refinement of the recipes, traditions and cuisines, making Delhi a confluence of food cultures. And it will be a biological sin (a phrase in my dictionary) if one deprives his/her tongue and stomach from experiencing this greasy goodness, which Delhi offers in abundance.

The city boasts of a long string of eateries, stalls, shacks, restaurants and hotels serving cuisines from across India, and in every budget possible. From traditional to modern, from posh to roadside, from quickie to well-spread, it has it all. It is nearly impossible to put all in one platter (read page). So, here is my list (a small one) of favourite 10.

KARIM’S, Nizamuddin

Address: Shop No.168/2, Hazrat Nizamuddin Basti Near Dargah Hazrat Nizamuddin, Nizammudin West

Nestled in one of Delhi’s oldest settlements, Karim’s is an icon in itself serving arguably the best Mughlai cuisine in the country. Though the first outlet, opened in 1913 in Old Delhi, is where most like to go, my favourite, however, is the one in Nizamuddin. Traditional wood-paneled dining room, a menu having items with names like Shahjahani Kabab, Nargisi Kofta, Biryani Anarkali, Chicken Jahangiri and Kheer Benazeer makes me feel like I am in the middle of royals enjoying mouth-watering history. Yes, this place is historical, authentic and the holy grail of pure deliciousness.

OH! CALCUTTA, Nehru Place

Address: Ground International Trade Tower, American Plaza, Lala Lajpat Rai Rd, Block “E, Nehru Place
Website: https://www.speciality.co.in/oh!-calcutta.html

This elegant restaurant, serving the cuisine from Bengal, has kept the spirit and tradition of the East alive and well. The food here is as authentic as it gets, immersed in the aroma of fish being cooked in mustard oil or prawn being simmered in coconut milk. The Bengalis living in Delhi swear by its authenticity and backs their claim by thronging this eatery during lunch hours, indulging in its marvelous buffet spread. But I pick loochi, daab chingri and mishti doi any day.

NAIVEDYAM, Hauz Khas Village

Address: 1, Hauz Khas Village, Deer Park, Hauz Khas
Website: https://www.naivedyamrestaurants.in/

This flower-covered, wall-painted, low-lit restaurant in HKV transports you straight to South India. A 100% vegetarian joint, the food here has the essence of simple home-cooked meals. With innumerable dosas, uttapams and chutneys on the menu card, even a local like me wonders “why haven’t I heard these names before”… there are just so many options. However, whether you take a risk or play safe, either way you won’t go wrong here. Whatever you pick will be delicious and authentic.

THE POTBELLY, Shahpur Jat

Address: Top Floor, 116 C, behind UCO Bank, Shahpur Jat
Facebook-Page: https://www.facebook.com/ThePotbelly/

Food from Bihar is rarely found in restaurants or placed on menus, which is a shame. One visit to this quirky restaurant will tell you what you have been missing. Their Saboodana basket, Aloo Lalu Chop, Litti-Chokha and Tehri are to die for. If you are looking for a big combo dish to share, then their innumerable Thalis are the best bet. Let me assure you, you will not regret this choice; not just for the food but also the location of the restaurant. I suggest, you be there to find out J

 

KHAN CHACHA
Addresses: 9 outlets; please check website for a convenient location
Website: http://khanchacha.in/

This is a “been there, done that” kind of place. However, you don’t come here for the décor or the ambience… it’s just the food… the traditional, well-made North Indian food. The juicy kababs, delicious rolls, succulent mutton nihari and traditional gravy items are the draw. Whether you drop in for a mid-afternoon snack or a proper lunch or dinner, be ready to wait, or even share a table. But it’s worth the wait, as you might end up experiencing a little bit of Old Delhi in any of the Khan Chacha outlets.

DZUKOU TRIBAL KITCHEN, Hauz Khas

Address: E-22, Third Floor,, Hauz Khas Main Market, Kharera, Hauz Khas
Website: http://dzukoutribalkitchen.com/

Chic and authentic with a traditional Naga menu, this gem is located in the heart of south Delhi. The restaurant’s name comes from the Dzukou Valley in Nagaland, in the farthest corner of India. The northeastern cuisine is far removed from other Indian cuisines and its reliable versions are usually hard to come by. This is one reason I like visiting this restaurant… because anything and everything I try every single time, I end up tasting something new and unique. They claim to be the ideal spot in this megacity to stretch your evening into the night. And I have to admit their claim is rightful and deliciously just.

SODABOTTLEOPENERWALA, Khan Market

Address: 73B, Khan Market, Rabindra Nagar
Website: https://www.sodabottleopenerwala.in/khan-market-3/

A warm inviting vibe, smiley faces, quirky menu and delicious food – this place has everything a restaurant needs to have. Built with affection and aesthetic, this Bombay Irani café and bar has finely revived and is showcasing the lost glory of Parsi cuisine, which has been a part of the Indian food scene for hundreds of years. Berry Pulao, Aloo Aunty’s Cutlet and Kolmi Fry are my personal favourites and I will go back their time and again even if there are thousands of yummiest restaurants to pick from.

CAFÉ LOTA, National Crafts Museum

Address: Gate No. 2, National Crafts Museum, Bhairon Marg, Pragati Maidan
Website: https://meltingpotfood.in/cafe-lota/

This charming joint, tucked away in a museum in central Delhi, is definitely not to be missed. This quaint and artsy café offers a contemporary take on regional, pan-Indian dishes which rarely make it to the menu of regular restaurants. In sync with the rural-themed museum, the café kitchen’s simple home-style cooking is the crowd-puller. Of all the unique items from different pockets of the country, their Bhapa doi cheesecake and palak-patta chaat are my all-time favourites and my mouth waters even while writing about them. So, let’s say the plethora of options, substantial portions and pocket-friendliness are few of the many reasons why Café Lota is the right place to enjoy a healthy and hearty meal.

INDIAN ACCENT, The Lodhi, Lodhi Road

Address: The Lodhi, Lodhi Rd, CGO Complex, Pragati Vihar
Website: https://indianaccent.com/newdelhi/index.php

This refined restaurant, which gives contemporary twists to traditional Indian dishes, is an experience in itself. One feels like a royal who has been air-dropped into a modern setup of glassy, watery walls and ceilings. Featured in World’s 50 Best Restaurants 2019, Indian Accent showcases inventive Indian cuisine by complementing the flavours and traditions of India with global ingredients and techniques. Most of the items here (if not all) put preparations elsewhere to shame. Honestly, try it to believe it. However, it is a reservation-driven restaurant, which follows a strict seating time, so if you want to be the one in the fancy affair, you better hurry and definitely book early.

FARZI CAFÉ, Connaught Place

Address: E-38/39, Rajiv Chowk, Inner Circle, Block E, Connaught Place
Facebook-Page: https://www.facebook.com/FarziCafeCP/

This bustling café, creating fusion Indian flavours using molecular gastronomy methods, shows modern Delhi’s love for quirkiness. In its effort to bring Indian cuisine back in-vogue, it has built itself to be a chic café, where guests enjoy a sensory experience through the finest modern Indian cuisine, in a high energy atmosphere. With large comfortable seating areas, the café has paid close attention to both the food spread and the décor, which deserves special mention. “Farzi” in Urdu means “one that creates an illusion”, and true to its name, the café has done it wonderfully with the dishes it serves. Once you have ordered preparations like Butter Chicken Bao (bun) & Green Chilli Mayo, Kashmiri Morel Risotto & Truffle Oil, after a very long look at the chic and interesting menu, you might end up thinking, “did I really order them, or was it my mind playing a trick.”

Die Stadt verfügt über eine breite Palette an Restaurants, Verkaufsständen, Imbissbuden und Hotels, in denen Gerichte aus ganz Indien für jeden Geldbeutel angeboten werden. Von traditionell bis modern, von noblen Lokalen bis zu einfachen Imbisshütten am Straßenrand, es hat alles zu bieten. Es ist unmöglich dem in einem Artikel gerecht zu werden, trotzdem hier meine kleine Liste der besten 10.

Das gastronomische Juwel Delhi

Mein kulinarischer Pfad zur Ekstase

Komm und iss mit Debashree Chatterjee, die uns ihre 10 besten Restaurants in Delhi verrät

Das reichhaltige und vielfältige kulinarische Erbe von Delhi spiegelt die Farben verschiedener Kulturen wider, die sich zu einem einzigen lebendigen Mosaik zusammenfinden. Mit vielen gastronomischen Traditionen – das Ergebnis vieler Königreiche und Herrscher, die diese Stadt zu unterschiedlichen Zeiten in der Geschichte zu ihrem eigenen gemacht haben – wird Delhi oft als die kulinarische Hauptstadt Indiens bezeichnet. Delhi hat eine vielschichtige Küche, mit Essen, das nicht nur in Hotels und Restaurants serviert wird. Es gibt unzählige Familienrezepte, die von Generation zu Generation weitergegeben wurden; und auf Spaziergängen durch die Straßen der Großstadt lockt uns das Essen sogar am Straßenrand. Einwanderer aus nah und fern haben dazu beigetragen, dass unzählige Rezepte, Traditionen und Küchen in Delhi aufgesaugt, angepasst und verfeinert wurden, was Delhi zu einem einzigartigen Zusammenfluss verschiedenster Esskulturen macht. Es wäre eine biologische Sünde sein (eine Redewendung aus meinem Wörterbuch), wenn man seiner Zunge und seinem Magen diesen geschmackvollen Schatz vorenthält, den Delhi im Überfluss anbietet.

KARIM’S, Nizamuddin

Adresse: Shop No.168/2, Hazrat Nizamuddin Basti Near Dargah Hazrat Nizamuddin, Nizammudin West

Das Karim’s befindet sich in einer der ältesten Stadtteile von Delhi und ist eine Ikone, die die wohl beste Mughlai-Küche des Landes serviert. Obwohl die erste Filiale, die 1913 in Alt-Delhi eröffnet wurde, die zahlenmäßig am stärksten besuchte ist, ist meine Lieblingsfiliale die in Nizamuddin. Ein traditioneller holzgetäfelter Speisesaal, auf dessen Menü Speisen wie Shahjahani Kabab, Nargisi Kofta, Biryani Anarkali, Hühnchen Jahangiri und Kheer Benazeer zu finden sind, lässt in mir das Gefühl aufkommen ein Teil der königlichen Familie zu sein und die köstliche Geschichte Delhis zu genießen. Dieser Ort ist historisch, authentisch und der heilige Gral purer Köstlichkeit.

NAIVEDYAM, Hauz Khas Village

Adresse: 1, Hauz Khas Village, Deer Park, Hauz Khas
Website: https://www.naivedyamrestaurants.in/

Dieses blumengeschmückte, wandbemalte Restaurant in HKV (= Hauz Khas Village) bringt dich direkt nach Südindien. Das Essen ist zu 100% vegetarisch und spiegelt die Essenz einfacher hausgemachter Mahlzeiten wider. Mit unzähligen Dosas, Uttapams und Chutneys auf der Speisekarte fragt sich selbst eine Einheimische wie ich, warum ich viele Namen davon noch nie zuvor gehört habe. Es gibt einfach zu viel Auswahl. Unabhängig davon, ob du ein Risiko eingehen oder auf Nummer sicher gehen willst, du kannst hier einfach nichts falsch machen. Was auch immer du wählst, es wird köstlich und authentisch sein.

KHAN CHACHA
Adresse: 9 outlets; please check website for a convenient location
Website: http://khanchacha.in/

Das ist einer dieser Orte, die man unbedingt gesehen haben muss. Man kommt hier nicht wegen des Dekors oder des Ambiente her … nur des Essens wegen … das traditionelle, gut gekochte nordindische Essen. Saftige Kebabs, leckere Brötchen, sagenhafte Hammel-Nihari und die traditionellen Soßen versprechen mehr als befriedigende Gaumenfreuden. Egal, ob du einen Nachmittagssnack oder ein ordentliches Mittag- oder Abendessen genießen willst, Khan Chacha ist definitiv die richtige Wahl. Auch wenn du auf einen Tisch warten musst, es lohnt sich, denn in jeder der Khan Chacha-Filialen erlebst du ein bisschen Old Delhi.

CAFÉ LOTA, National Crafts Museum

Adresse: Gate No. 2, National Crafts Museum, Bhairon Marg, Pragati Maidan
Website: https://meltingpotfood.in/cafe-lota/

Dieser charmante Laden, der in einem Museum im Zentrum von Delhi versteckt ist, darf auf keinen Fall fehlen. Das malerische und kunstvolle Café bietet eine zeitgemäße Interpretation regionaler, pan-indischer Gerichte, die selten auf der Speisekarte eines normalen Restaurants zu finden sind. Im Einklang mit dem Museum besticht es durch seinen ländlichen Stil; die einfache gutbürgerliche Küche des Cafés zieht die Besucher des Museums magisch an. Von all den besonderen Speisen aus allen Ecken Indiens sind ihr Bhapa-Doi-Käsekuchen und ihr Palak-Patta-Chaat meine absoluten Favoriten und mein Mund wird wässrig, wenn ich nur darüber schreibe.Das Café Lota ist der richtige Ort, um eine gesunde und herzhafte Mahlzeit zu genießen.

FARZI CAFÉ, Connaught Place

Adresse: E-38/39, Rajiv Chowk, Inner Circle, Block E, Connaught Place
Facebook-Page: https://www.facebook.com/FarziCafeCP/

Dieses lebhafte Café, das mit molekularen Methoden Aromen der indischen Küche kreiert, zeigt die Liebe des modernen Delhi zur Skurrilität. In seinem Bestreben, die indische Küche wieder in Mode zu bringen, hat es sich zu einem schicken Café entwickelt, in dem die Gäste ein sinnliches Erlebnis anhand feinster moderner indischer Küche in einer energiereichen Atmosphäre genießen können. Mit seinen großen, komfortablen Sitzbereichen hat das Café sowohl auf die Speisenauswahl als auch auf das Dekor geachtet, was besondere Erwähnung verdient. „Farzi“ ist Urdu und bedeutet „etwas, das eine Illusion schafft“, und tatsächlich nomen est omen. Wenn du Gerichte  wie Butter Chicken Bao & Green Chilli Mayo, Kashmiri Morchel-Risotto & Trüffelöl bestellt hast, mag es sein, dass du dich nach dem ersten Bissen schon fragst: „Habe ich das wirklich bestellt? Spielt mir mein Verstand einen Streich? Kann es wahr sein?“

OH! CALCUTTA, Nehru Place

Adresse: Ground International Trade Tower, American Plaza, Lala Lajpat Rai Rd, Block “E, Nehru Place
Website: https://www.speciality.co.in/oh!-calcutta.html

Dieses elegante Restaurant serviert bengalische Gerichte und hält den Geist und die Tradition des Ostens lebendig. Authentischer geht Essen kaum. Es duftet nach Fisch, der in Senföl gekocht wird, oder nach Garnelen, die in Kokosmilch gegart wurden. Die in Delhi lebenden Bengalen schwören auf die Authentizität der Küche, besuchen dieses Lokal bevorzugt während der Mittagspause und lassen sich von seinem herrlichen Buffet. Meine Favoriten in den Kochtöpfen sind Loochi, Daab Chingri und Mischti Doi.

THE POTBELLY, Shahpur Jat

Adresse: Top Floor, 116 C, behind UCO Bank, Shahpur Jat
Facebook-Page: https://www.facebook.com/ThePotbelly/

Gerichte aus Bihar gibt es nur selten in Restaurants oder auf Speisekarten, was sehr schade ist. Ein Besuch in diesem schrulligen Restaurant wird dir verraten, was du bislang vermisst hast. Ihr Saboodana-Korb, Aloo Lalu Chop, Litti-Chokha und Tehri sind ein Traum. Wenn du nach einer ausgiebigen Mahlzeit suchst, dann sind die unzähligen Thalis die beste Wahl. Ich versichere dir, dass du diese Entscheidung nicht bereuen wirst. Nicht nur das Essen, auch die Lage des Restaurants ist besonders.

DZUKOU TRIBAL KITCHEN, Hauz Khas

Adresse: E-22, Third Floor,, Hauz Khas Main Market, Kharera, Hauz Khas
Website: http://dzukoutribalkitchen.com/

Schick und authentisch mit traditionellem Naga-Menü erwartet dich dieses Juwel im Herzen von Süd-Delhi. Der Name des Restaurants stammt aus dem Dzukou-Tal in Nagaland, in der äußersten Ecke Indiens. Die nordöstliche Küche ist anders als alle anderen indischen Küchen und authentische Gerichte sind normalerweise schwer zu bekommen. Mit ein Grund, warum ich dieses Restaurant gerne besuche. Alles, was ich hier probiere, schmeckt immer nach etwas Neuem und Einzigartigem. Das Restaurant verspricht der ideale Ort in dieser Megacity zu sein, um deinen Abend bis in die Nacht hinein zu verlängern. Und ich muss zugeben, dass es seinem Anspruch durchaus gerecht wird.

SODABOTTLEOPENERWALA, Khan Market

Adresse: 73B, Khan Market, Rabindra Nagar
Website: https://www.sodabottleopenerwala.in/khan-market-3/

Eine warme, einladende Atmosphäre, glückliche Gesichter, eine schrullige Speisekarte und leckeres Essen – dieser Ort bietet alles, was ein Restaurant braucht. Das liebevoll und ästhetisch eingerichtete Café und Bar wurde wiederbelebt und zeigt den verlorenen Ruhm der Parsi-Küche, die seit Jahrhunderten Teil der indischen Gastronomieszene ist. Berry Pulao, Aloo Aunty’s Cutlet und Kolmi Fry sind meine persönlichen Favoriten und ich werde immer wieder zurückkehren, auch wenn es Tausende Restaurants gibt, die mich mit ihren leckeren Speisen locken.

INDIAN ACCENT, The Lodhi, Lodhi Road

Adresse: The Lodhi, Lodhi Rd, CGO Complex, Pragati Vihar
Website: https://indianaccent.com/newdelhi/index.php

Dieses raffinierte Restaurant, das traditionellen indischen Gerichten eine zeitgemäße Note verleiht, ist ein Erlebnis für sich. Man fühlt sich wie ein König, der in ein modernes Ambiente aus Glas- und mit Wasser gefüllten Wänden und Decken getaucht wurde. Indian Accent wird in den 50 besten Restaurants der Welt 2019 angeführt und präsentiert eine einfallsreiche indische Küche, indem die Aromen und Traditionen Indiens durch Zutaten aus aller Welt und auf neuartige Weise ergänzt werden. Die meisten, wenn nicht alle, Gerichte, stellen alles andere bislang Gegegessene in den Schatten. Man muss es versuchen, um es glauben zu können. Das Indian Accent kann man jedoch nicht ohne Reservierung besuchen. Eine frühzeitige Buchung wird empfohlen.