Sikkim & Darjeeling

Sikkim & Darjeeling

Sikkim: Small region – many opportunities

Sikkim is an extraordinary interesting travel destination. It doesn’t appear typically indian, it is more like a mixture of Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal. The landscape is similar to Bhutan’s, also culturally they share a lot of similarities. Over the last decades there was a lot of Nepalese immigration taking place, so of course the small former kingdom absorbed a lot from its neighbor in the west. The connection to Tibet has been centuries-old, they connect through history, culture and religion.

And this small state is also home of one of the highest mountains in the world: Khanchendzönga – the world’s third-highest summit is located at the border between Sikkim and Nepal. It is a constant companion on every journey to Sikkim, you can’t avoid it – hence it is one of the most photographed subjects.

Darjeeling is only a stone’s throw from here and is perfect for a combined visit. The tea paradise has a vital colonial history and is a special mekka for mountain lovers.


Advice!

Sikkim and Bhutan can be visited together, it makes a great combination of vacations!

spacer

Der mächtigste Berg Sikkims und der 3.-höchste der Welt: KhanchendzongaMighty Khanchendzonga
spacer

Overview Sikkim

Area: 7.000 km2

Capital: Gangtok

Population: 600.000

Religion: Buddhism and Hinduism

Beste time of travel: March-beginning June and October-November

Climate: Subtropical in the valleys, temperate zone above 1,000 m. Sikkim is strongly affected by the monsoon and is among the most humid regions of the Himalayas, therefore you should absolutely commence your journey outside of monsoon season (June-October).

Sikkim is one of the smallest states in India and is located at the southern side of the Himalayas between Bhutan, Tibet and Nepal. The third-highest mountain of the world – the Khanchendzonga at 8,586m – is situated partly on Sikkim soil and is seen as a tutelary deity by the Sikkim population. The largest river in Sikkim is the Teesta.

sikkim



Overview Darjeeling

The district of Darjeeling is part of West Bengal state and has a population of 1.6 million. At the same time Darjeeling has been a famous Hill Station and city popular with the British for its agreeable climate. Just like Sikkim, it is strongly affected by the monsoon and gets a considerable amount of precipitation – so the best travel time is the same as in Sikkim. In the west, Darjeeling is most famous for its aromatic tea which is grown on extensive plantations.

DarjeelingAt the train station in Darjeeling


Sights

Orchids in all shapes and sizes, plantations arranged in a terraced matter, snow-clad Himalayan ranges and friendly people – this and much more make a journey to this destination worth it in any case.

Gangtok is the capital of Sikkim and was spectacularly built onto a hillside. A must-see are: Enchey monastery, Namgyal Institute of Tibetology, Lal Bazar and its parks. Not far from Gangtok lies Rumtek, the largest monastery of the state and the seat of His Holiness the Karmapa – one of the most important figures in Tibetan Buddhism.

Yuksom was the first capital of the former kingdom and today is used as an important starting point for trekking tours and expeditions to the base camp of Khanchendzonga. The monastery of Pemayangtse is located near the city of Pelling and is one of the largest monastery sites of Sikkim – next to Rumtek.

Darjeeling is not only the world’s capital of tea, but home of the Himalayan Institute for Mountaineering and a very well-managed zoo (compared to other Indian zoos). Ghoom monastery is always worth a visit and the joyride on board the old British Toy Train brings exactly that: joy and some diversion.

Kalimpong: For us, personally, this city has a lot of flair, it has exciting architecture, many Buddhist temples and beautiful hotels that provide living history and bring you back to colonial times.


SikkimDebating monks in Rinchenpong



Activities

Everything is possible, you can book a jeep-safari, you can explore your surroundings on foot or go on a proper trekking tour. Yuksom is the starting point for many popular trekking tours, from here you can enter Khanchendzonga national park and admire the world’s third highest mountain at close range.

The Singelia-Trek starts in Darjeeling and is also very popular among visitors – you will have the most wonderful views of the surrounding mountain ranges.

If you are a friend of flora and fauna, you will get your money’s worth – orchids, ferns, various birds and butterflies are feeling comfortable in Sikkim. So, of course, that aspect attracts many nature lovers from all over the world.

We would love to personally advise you on your own tailor-made trip to Sikkim and Darjeeling >> Contact



Links & further infos

The (very well-made) official site of Sikkim Tourism Department >> http://www.sikkimtourism.gov.in/Webforms/General/Default.aspx

The official Site of Darjeeling Tourism Department >> http://www.darjeeling-tourism.com/

The homepage of Darjeeling zoo >> http://www.pnhzp.gov.in/

For railway fans: Information on the Toy Train in Darjeeling >> http://dhr.indianrailways.gov.in/

Infos about Khangchendzonga-National Park >> http://www.knpsikkim.in/

51AT+8JAPDL._AA160_

Book tip: The Noodle Maker of Kalimpong: The Untold Story of My Struggle for Tibet. Anne F. Thurston and Gyalo Thondup

Only a few tours to Sikkim & Darjeeling

We offer by far more than what we show here. But these are the most popular tours, so have a look.

Contact us



If you want to travel to Sikkim and/or Darjeeling or if you have general inquiries, don't hestitate to contact us. We like to receive emails 😉
We usually reply within 24hrs, rarely it takes longer. Only when we travel, it might be taking a bit more than just one working day.

Sikkim & Darjeeling

Kleines Land, große Möglichkeiten

Sikkim ist ein besonders spannendes Reiseland. Es mag mir so gar nicht wie Indien erscheinen – vielmehr eine Mischung aus Bhutan, Tibet und Nepal. Landschaftlich ist es seinem Nachbarn Bhutan sehr ähnlich, auch in kultureller Hinsicht haben die beiden vieles gemein. Durch die Zuwanderung von Nepalesen in den letzten Jahrzehnten hat das kleine ehemalige Königreich im Nordosten Indiens auch wesentlich mehr von seinem Nachbarn im Westen aufgesogen. Mit Tibet ist Sikkim seit Jahrhunderten historisch, kulturell und religiös verwoben.


Das kleine Sikkim ist auch Heimat eines der höchsten Berge der Welt: Der Khanchendzönga liegt an der Grenze zwischen Sikkim und Nepal und ist der dritthöchste Berg der Welt. Er ist auf jeder Sikkimreise ein steter Begleiter und eines der meist fotografierten Motive.

Einen Katzensprung entfernt liegt Darjeeling und empfiehlt sich daher auch mit Sikkim verbunden zu werden. Das Teeparadies hat ein lebendiges koloniales Erbe und ist besonders für Bergfreunde ein besonderes Mekka.

Der Khanchendzonga

Lies unseren Blogbeitrag

Khanchendzonga – Kangchendzonga – Kantsch

8586 Meter ragt er in die Höhe: Der Khanchendzonga. Der dritthöchste Berg der Welt. Der höchste Berg von Sikkim und auch Indien.

zum Blog

Unser Tipp

Eine Reise nach Sikkim lässt sich gut mit Bhutan verbinden.

Fakten & Zahlen: Sikkim

Fläche: 7.000 km2
Hauptstadt: Gangtok
Einwohner: 600.000
Religionszugehörigkeit: Buddhismus und Hinduismus

Beste Reisezeit: März-Anfang Juni und Oktober-November

Klima: In den Tälern subtropisch, oberhalb von 1.000m gemäßigtes Klima. Sikkim ist stark vom Monsun betreffen und zählt auch zu den feuchtesten Regionen des Himalaya, deshalb sollte man seine Reise unbedingt außerhalb der Monsunzeit (Juni-Oktober) legen.

Sikkim ist einer der kleinsten Bundesstaaten Indiens und liegt im südlichen Himalaya zwischen Bhutan, Tibet und Nepal. Der dritthöchste Berg der Welt – der Khanchendzönga mit 8.586m – liegt zum Teil auf sikkimesischem Gebiet. Der Khanchendzönga gilt darüberhinaus auch als Schutzgottheit Sikkims. Der größte Fluss ist der Teesta.

Fakten & Zahlen: Darjeeling

Fläche: 2.092 km²
Bundesstaat: Westbengalen
Bevölkerung: 1,8 Millionen (2011)

Beste Reisezeit: März-Anfang Juni und Oktober-November

Der Distrikt Darjeeling ist Teil des indischen Bundesstaates Westbengalen und zählt ca. 1,6 Mio Einwohner. Gleichzeitig ist Darjeeling auch eine Stadt, die wegen seines angenehmen Klimas bei den Briten als Hill Station sehr beliebt war. Wie auch Sikkim empfängt Darjeeling während der Monsunzeit beträchtliche Mengen an Niederschlägen, die Reisezeit gleicht sich damit an die von Sikkim an. Im Westen bekannt ist Darjeeling aufgrund seines aromatischen Tees, der im gleichnamigen Distrikt angebaut wird.

spacer

Sehenswertes

Orchideen in allen Formen und Farben, terrassenförmig angelegte Felder, schneebedeckte Bergriesen und freundliche Menschen. Das und vieles mehr ist eine Reise nach Sikkim in jedem Fall wert.

Gangtok ist die Hauptstadt von Sikkim und wurde spektakulär an einem Hang erbaut. Must sees sind das Kloster Enchey, das Namgyal Institut für Tibetologie, der Lal Bazar und seine Parks. Nicht unweit davon liegt Rumtek. Das größte Kloster des Landes ist Sitz seiner Heiligkeit des Karmapa – einer der wichtigsten Persönlichkeiten im tibetischen Buddhismus.

Yuksom ist die erste Hauptstadt des ehemaligen Königreichs und heute wichtiger Ausgangspunkt für Trekkingtouren und Expeditionen zum Basislager des Khanchendzönga. Das Kloster Pemayangtse liegt nahe der Stadt Pelling und zählt neben Rumtek zu den größten Klosteranlagen des Landes.

Darjeeling ist nicht nur die Hauptstadt des Tees, sondern auch Sitz des Himalayan Institutes for Mountaineering und eines für indische Verhältnisse wirklich guten Zoos. Das Kloster Ghoom ist ein Besuch wert und die Fahrt im toy train aus britischen Zeiten bringt etwas Abwechslung mit sich.

Kalimpong: Die Stadt hat für mich persönlich viel Flair. Architektonisch ist es eine spannende Stadt. Auch hat sie viele buddhistische Tempel und wunderschöne Hotels mit kolonialer Geschichte zu bieten.

Aktivitäten

Wer keine (reine) Jeepsafari machen möchte, kann zum einen viel zu Fuß entlang kleinerer und größerer Trampelpfade erkunden oder zum anderen gleich eine richtige Trekkingtour machen. Besonders beliebte Trekkingtouren starten in Yuksom, da man dort Eintritt in den Khanchendzönga Nationalpark hat. Von Yuksom aus kann man bis hinauf zum Goeche Pass trekken, von wo aus man den drittgrößten Berg direkt vor sich bestaunen kann.
Von Darjeeling ausgehend erfreut sich der Singelia-Trek besonderer Beliebheit. Nicht von ungefährt, kann man doch täglich unglaubliche Blicke auf die umliegende Bergwelt genießen.
Auch FreundInnen der Flora und Fauna kommen in Sikkim voll auf ihre Kosten. Insbesondere Orchideen, Farne, Vögel und Schmetterlinge unterschiedlichster Art fühlen sich in Sikkim besonders wohl. Das zieht Naturbegeisterte aus aller Welt an.

Links & weitere Infos

Die offizielle Seite des Sikkim Tourismus Department >> http://www.sikkimtourism.gov.in

Die offizielle Seite des Darjeeling Tourismus Department >> http://www.darjeeling-tourism.com/

Die Homepage des Zoos in Darjeeling >> http://www.pnhzp.gov.in/

Für die Eisenbahn-Fans: Infos über den Toytrain in Darjeeling >> http://dhr.indianrailways.gov.in/

Infos über den Khangchendzonga-Nationalpark >> http://www.knpsikkim.in/

Zeitungsbericht in der Neuen Zürcher Zeitung 2004 >> Sikkim wird auf die Erde zurückgeholt.

Reisebericht in der Welt, 2006 >> Wolkennah: Himmelreich im Himalaya.

Eine Reise in Bildern durch Sikkim

Fotos von Roland Amon