Trekking and Expedition in the land of the nomads

Expedition to Spangnak Ri in Changthang
On this tour we fly at higher game: the nine-day-trek leads us through the the Tibetan High Plateau at an elevation between 4,500 and 5,000 m, home of the nomads and their herds of sheep, goats and yaks.

group-symbol

Group departure: Ladakh: Sky of the nomads
Price:  EUR 1.790 / USD 2.050
Date: 08.-26. August 2020
Status: available

 

 

individualAs individual tour at your desired date
Best time of travel: July-September
Price for 1 pax: on request
Price for 2-3 people:  1.990 EUR/person / 2.280 USD/person
Price from 4 pax onwards:  1.790 EUR/person / 2.050 USD/person
Price from 8 pax onwards: on request
[/one_half_last]


spacer

Die Kiang (Wildesel) gehören zum Changthang

The Kiang (wild ass) are part of the Changthang

On this tour we fly at higher game: the nine-day-trek leads us through the the Tibetan High Plateau at an elevation between 4,500 and 5,000 m, home of the nomads and their herds of sheep, goats and yaks.

And then we even climb a six-thousander – Spangnak Ri at 6,380 m is a lesser-known summit, but nonetheless very exciting to climb and the highest point on our tour.

Before the trek you will acclimatize while visiting the most beautiful monasteries of Ladakh and the deep-blue Pangong lake, that connects Ladakh with Tibet. Now you are perfectly prepared for the following trek.

 

 

spacer

Highlights at a glance

  • The most beautiful monasteries of Ladakh: Hemis, Thikse, Alchi
  • Boarder lake to Tibet: Pangong Lake
  • Impressive trekking through the nomad’s land
  • Encounters with nomads
  • Expedition to an 6000er

 

spangnak

Spangnak Ri (6.380m)

 

Important notice to this tour

Please notice that this trekking is in high altitude! We take good care of acclimatization before the main trek, but still there might be problems with getting used to high altitude. Have a look on our tips to avoid altitude sickness!!

 



Itinerary

Day 1
Departure from home

Day 2
Arrival in Delhi & Leh
In Delhi we will bring you to the other/domestic terminal or you stay at the same terminal and just go to the upper floor. The flight over the Himalayas and the landing in Leh is an adventure in itself and even when you are tired from your long journey, that experience will wake you right up. Your guide is already waiting for you at the airport in Leh and will bring you to your hotel. On the first day you can relax and ONLY relax to better acclimatize to the high altitude. (It is a conscious decision not having planned any activities on the first day, it is crucial for your adaptation to the high altitude!) B,L,-

Day 3
In the focus: Leh
The first day of sightseeing dedicated to Leh. At first sight Ladakh’s capital seems chaotic and not very charming, but if you look closely you can discover many exciting aspects. You visit the central city monastery – the Gonpa Soma – , the bazar of Leh with its market women selling fresh produce from their gardens and the polo field, where polo was already played long before the British came. After lunch at the hotel there is time to relax, the second part of the program only starts later in the afternoon. A car will take you to Tsemo monastery, then you walk over green pastures along beautiful Ladakhi houses, with laughing children and friendly Leh-pas (Leh’s residents) to the hidden Samkhar monastery. To complete the day you visit Shanti-Stupa, built in the 1980’s, where you have a great view over Leh and the Indus valley. B,L,-

Day 4
Monks & Nuns
After breakfast we drive to Hemis, where we find a hidden monastery – one of the wealthiest in Ladakh. There will be a lot of time to explore the area and see much of this historic monastery. After that we will have lunch at the nunnery, which is rich in contrast to the monastery and where we can get some insight into the daily life of the nuns in Ladakh. For the next part of our tour we hike to the neighboring Thikse monastery – located on top of a hill it represents the impressive architecture and is one of the most beautiful monasteries of Ladakh. In any case it is the most photographed! Later in the afternoon we will bring you back to your already familiar hotel in Leh. B,L,-

Kloster Thikse (c) Roland Amon

Monastery Thikse (c) Roland Amon

Day 5
Julley Sham
In the morning we leave Leh and drive westward into the Sham region. It is located at lower elevation and is therefore warmer and more fertile. We stop in Likir, visit the local monastery and marvel at the giant statue of Buddha Maitreya. After that we will go for a hike to Saspol. Subsequently we drive to Alchi, where one of the oldest monasteries of Ladakh is located. After a extensive sight-seeing tour comprising the grounds of the monastery, we return to Leh. B,L,-

Day 6
Boarder lake
After an early breakfast we drive to eastern Ladakh, into Tibetan border region, over 5,300m Chang pass (in our comfortable taxis). We enter Changthang, the continuation of the Tibetan High Plateau in Ladakh, and – after an approximately four- to five-hour drive – reach our destination for today: Pangong Lake, where two thirds of the lake’s surface are located in Tibet. And because it is at an elevation of 4,500 m we will spend our night here to ideally prepare for the following trekking. Overnight stay at a (simple) hotel or deluxe camp. B,L,D

Day 7
1. Trekking camp
We get back to the Indus valley over Chang La, but we don’t return to Leh, however we drive to Rumtse. There we will set up our first camp, spending the night here to relax before we start trekking tomorrow. We will meet our trekking team and sleep at an elevation of 3,900 m. Before getting to sleep, we can already test our hiking boots and walk a little. B,L,D

IndienLadakh_20140901_1070

Nomadic girl (c) Barbara Esser

Day 8
Trekking to Kyamar
Hiking time: about 3-4 hours, sleeping altitude at 4,550m. B,L,D

Day 9
Trekking to Tisaling
Hiking time: about 6-7 hours. Crossing of 2 passes: 5,080m + 5,230m, sleeping altitude at 4,950m. B,L,D

Day 10
Trekking to Riyul
Hiking time: about 7-8 hours. Crossing of a pass: 5,230m, sleeping altitude at 4,300m. B,L,D

Day 11
Trekking to Rachung Karu
Hiking time: about 5-6 hours, Crossing of a pass: 4,930m, sleeping altitude at 4,900m. B,L,D

IndienLadakh_20140905_1400

At Tsokar (c) Barbara Esser

Day 12
Trekking to Gyamar Barma
Hiking time: about 5-6 hours. Crossing of a pass: 5,430m, sleeping altitude at 5,150m. B,L,D

Day 13
Trekking to the basecamp of Spangnak Ri
Hiking time: about 3-4 hours, sleeping altitude at over 5,000m. B,L,D

Day 14
Acclimatization day
We spend this day to acclimatize, which is crucial to ideally prepare for tomorrow’s ascent. B,L,D

Day 15
Climbing of Spangnak Ri
Climbing time: about 10-12 hours, highest point: 6.380m. Sure-footedness and safe walking in crampons is essential – the technical difficulty of the climb is not that high, but we need to traverse a glacier, so a certain mountaineering experience is needed for this ascent. B,L,D

Day 16
Trekking to the road and drive to Leh
After a few hours of hiking down to the road, we meet our taxis which will bring us back to Leh (driving time: about 7 hours!). B,L,-

The area of trekking

Day 17
Free day in Leh
What would you like to do on your last day in Leh? Shopping, relaxing with a cup of coffee, sight-seeing again, or just resting? Whatever you want – please spend your last day with activities you chose yourself! B,-,D

Day 18
Delhi
When you come from Leh and arrive in Delhi today, you will find it to be loud and not very charming. But we try our best to show you Delhi’s best side and create wonderful last days for you here. B,-,-

Day 19
The interesting side of Delhi
Together we explore the most exciting parts of Delhi. We visit Old Delhi, which is rich in culture and walk through bustling markets and see impressive architecture. Late in the evening we will bring you back to the airport, where early in the morning on the next day your flight home is going to depart.

Day 20
Flight home


Prices and dates

Basic data for Sky of the nomads as Group Departure:

  • Date: 10. -29. August 2019
  • Price: 1.790 EUR / 2.140 USD
  • Min/Max participants: 4/10
  • Single supplement: 200 EUR / 240 USD

 

Basic date for Sky of the nomads as Individual Tour:

  • Best time of travel: July-September
  • Price for 1 pax: on request
  • Price for 2-3 people:  1.990 EUR/person / 2.280 USD/person
  • Price from 4 pax onwards:  1.790 EUR/person / 2.050 USD/person
  • Price from 8 pax onwards: on request
  • Singe supplement: 200 EUR / 240 USD


Services included

  • Services from/to Delhi
  • Accommodation in Standardhotels/Guesthouses with food according to itinerary / Accommodation in double rooms
  • Tour guidance by an english speaking local guide
  • Trekkingsupport with cook/helper/horses
  • Camping-Equipment excl. sleeping bag
  • All entrances and Permits
  • All transfers & transportations according to programme[/tg_promo_box]

Not included

  • Flights
  • Travel insurance
  • Visa for India
  • Vaccination
  • Tips
  • Additional costs caused by illness, accident, route changes due to acts of nature beyond control, etc.
  • Additional costs caused by cancelled or delayed flight[/tg_promo_box]


As individual tour

You can choose your own date, but we will happily assist you if you need some help.

Of course this travel can be modified according to your wishes: extend, shorten or change! We are open to (almost) anything.

In general we’d like to arrange this tour also for single travelers. Only during the very busy times in high season we might have to refuse. Simply ask for possible dates!

Book this tour

 

 

This tour might be also of interest for you

rad_ladakhLadakh: Cycling and Trekking in Nubra
Multiactive Tour (Cycling, Trekking and optional climbing of Stok Kangri at the end); max. 10 participants

Prices and dates available

This tour can be booked individually as well

 

 

If you have questions regarding this tour, don’t hestitate to contact us

Name (required)

Email (required)

Phone

Subject

Message

*I agree that the data entered will by stored during the period of processing - namely to answer my request and information about requested products and services. My data will not be stored for more than three months. And should the processing of my request take longer than three months, my data will be deleted at the latest upon completion of the processing.

Trekking und Expedition im Nomadenland

Expedition zum Spangnak Ri im Changthang

 

Diese Tour geht hoch hinaus: Die 9-tägige Trekkingtour führt durch das tibetische Hochplateau, Heimat der Nomaden mit ihren Schaf-, Ziegen- und Yakherden, bei der die durchschnittliche Höhe zwischen 4.500 und 5.000m liegt.

 


group-symbol

Gruppenreise: Ladakh: Der Himmel der Nomaden
Preis:  EUR 1.790
Termin: 08.-26 August 2020
Status: verfügbar


 

individualAls Individualreise zum selbst gewählten Reisetermin
Beste Reisezeit: Juli-September
Preis bei 1 Person: auf Anfrage
Preis bei 2-3 Personen:  1.990 EUR/Person
Preis ab 4 Personen:  1.790 EUR/Person
Preis ab 8 Personen: auf Anfrage


 spacer

Die Kiang (Wildesel) gehören zum Changthang

Die Kiang (Wildesel) gehören zum Changthang

Diese Tour geht hoch hinaus: Die 9-tägige Trekkingtour führt durch das tibetische Hochplateau, Heimat der Nomaden mit ihren Schaf-, Ziegen- und Yakherden, bei der die durchschnittliche Höhe zwischen 4.500 und 5.000m liegt.

Und dann geht es auch noch auf einen 6.000er. Der wenig bekannte, aber nicht minder spannende Spangnak Ri ist 6.380m hoch und der höchste Punkt dieser Reise.

Vor dem Trek akklimatisieren wir uns bei Besuchen in den schönsten Klöstern Ladakhs und besuchen den tiefblauen Pangong-See, der Ladakh mit Tibet verbindet. Danach solltest du optimal auf die Trekkingtour vorbereitet sein.

spacer

Die Highlights auf einen Blick

  • Die wichtigsten Klöster Ladakhs: Hemis, Thikse, Alchi
  • An der Grenze zu Tibet am türkisen Pangong-See
  • Beeindruckendes Trekking durch das tibetische Hochplateau
  • Begegnung mit tibetischen Nomaden
  • Besteigung eines 6000ers

 

spangnak

Spangnak Ri (6.380m)

 

Wichtiger Hinweis zu dieser Tour

Bitte beachte die große Höhe in der das Trekking stattfindet! Wir bemühen uns zwar um eine optimale Akklimatisierungszeit im Vorfeld, dennoch kann es höhenbedingt zu Anpassungschwierigkeiten kommen. Lies unseren Blogbeitrag: Atemlos. Tipps zur Höhenanpassung.!

 



Detailprogramm

Tag 1
Abflug von zu Hause
Von wo auch immer Sie starten, Sie werden kurz vor Mitternacht oder am Folgetag in Delhi ankommen. Achtung: Eine Ankunft in Delhi bis spätestens 3 Uhr morgens am Tag 2 ist unbedingt zu berücksichtigen.

Tag 2
Ankunft in Delhi & Leh
In Delhi angekommen werden Sie je nach Weiterflug zum anderen Terminal gebracht oder Sie bleiben am selben Terminal und gehen nur einen Stock höher. Der Flug über den Himalaya und die Landung in Leh ist ein Abenteuer für sich und selbst wenn Sie müde von der langen Anreise sind, wird Sie dieses Erlebnis schnell wachrütteln. In Leh erwartet Sie bereits Ihr Guide am Flughafen und bringt Sie in Ihr Hotel, in dem Sie sich am ersten Tag zur besseren Akklimatisierung NUR entspannen. (Bewusst haben wir am ersten Tag keine Aktivitäten eingeplant, da dies für die Anpassung an die Höhe unbedingt erforderlich ist!) F,M,-)

Tag 3
Im Fokus: Leh
Der erste Sightseeing-Tag ist zur Gänze Leh gewidmet. Auf den ersten Blick erscheint die Hauptstadt Ladakhs chaotisch und wenig reizvoll, doch wenn man genauer hinblickt, entdeckt man viele spannende Seiten. Sie besuchen das zentrale Stadtkloster – die Gonpa Soma –, den Basar von Leh mit seinen Marktfrauen, die frisches Gemüse aus ihren Gärten verkaufen und den Polo-Platz, wo lange vor den Briten bereits Polo gespielt wurde. Nach dem Mittagessen im Hotel bleibt etwas Zeit, um sich auszuspannen, denn der zweite Teil des Programms beginnt erst am späteren Nachmittag. Im Auto geht es hoch zum Tsemo-Kloster, dann zu Fuß vorbei an grünen Feldern und schönen ladakhischen Häusern, lachenden Kindern und freundlichen Leh-pas (die Einwohner Lehs) ins versteckte Kloster Samkhar. Den Abschluss des Tages bildet die in den 80er Jahren errichtete Shanti-Stupa, von der aus man ganz Leh und das Industal überblickt. F,M,-

Tag 4
Mönche & Nonnen
Nach dem Frühstück geht es nach Hemis, wo ein verstecktes Kloster steht, das zu den reichsten Klöstern Ladakhs zählt. Wir lassen uns ausgiebig Zeit und erkunden das geschichtsträchtige Kloster, bevor wir im kontrastreichen Nonnenkloster Nyerma zu Mittag essen und Einblicke in das Leben der Nonnen Ladakhs bekommen. Zu Fuß wandern wir dann in das benachbarte Kloster Thikse, das ob seiner exponierten Lage und der eindrucksvollen Architektur sicherlich zu den schönsten Klöstern Ladakhs zählt. In jedem Fall dürfte es das meist fotografierteste sein. Am späten Nachmittag bringen wir Sie zurück ins bereits vertraute Hotel in Leh. F,M,-

Kloster Thikse (c) Roland Amon

Kloster Thikse (c) Roland Amon

Tag 5
Julley Sham
Am Morgen verlassen wir Leh und fahren nach Westen, in die Region Sham, das niedriger als Leh liegt und daher wärmer und fruchtbarer ist. Wir halten in Likir, besuchen dort das Kloster und bewundern die riesige Statue des Buddha Maitreya. Dann vertreten wir uns etwas die Füße und wandern nach Saspol. Weiter geht es nach Alchi, wo eines der ältesten Klöster Ladakhs steht. Nach einer ausgiebigen Besichtigung des wertvollen Klosters geht es retour nach Leh. F,M,-

Tag 6
Grenzsee
Nach einem zeitigen Frühstück geht es in den Osten Ladakhs, an die Grenze zu Tibet. Zuerst aber queren wir den 5.300m hohen Chang-Pass (in unseren bequemen Taxis). Wir betreten den Changthang, die Fortsetzung des tibetischen Hochplateaus auf tibetischem Boden und kommen schließlich – nach einer rund 5-stündigen Fahrt – am Pangong-See an, der zu zwei Drittel bereits in Tibet liegt. Weil der See auch bereits auf 4.500m Höhe liegt, bereitet uns die Nacht am Pangong auch optimal auf das Trekking vor. Nächtigung im Hotel (sehr simpel!) oder Deluxe Camp. F,M,A

Tag 7
1. Trekkinglager
Es geht wieder retour über den Chang-Pass ins Industal, fahren aber nicht retour nach Leh, sondern nach Rumtse, wo wir das 1. Lager unserer morgen beginnenden Trekkingtour aufschlagen. Wir begegnen unserem Trekkingteam und nächtigen auf einer Höhe von etwa 3.900m. Vor dem Schlafengehen wird sich die Gruppe gleich mal etwas die Füße vertreten. F,M,A

IndienLadakh_20140901_1070

Nomadenmädchen (c) Barbara Esser

Tag 8
Trekking nach Kyamar
Gehzeit: ca. 3-4 Stunden. Schlafhöhe: 4.550m. F,M,A

Tag 9
Trekking nach Tisaling
Gehzeit: ca. 6-7 Stunden. Querung 2er Pässe: 5.080m + 5.230m, Schlafhöhe: 4.950m. F,M,A

Tag 10
Trekking nach Riyul
Gehzeit: ca. 7-8 Stunden. Querung eines Passes: 5.230m, Schlafhöhe: 4.300m. F,M,A

Tag 11
Trekking nach Rachung Karu
Gehzeit: ca. 5-6 Stunden, Querung eines Passes: 4.930m, Schlafhöhe: 4.900m. F,M,A

IndienLadakh_20140905_1400

Am Tsokar (c) Barbara Esser

Tag 12
Trekking nach Gyamar Barma
Gehzeit: ca. 5-6 Stunden. Querung eines Passes: 5.430m, Schlafhöhe: 5.150m. F,M,A

Tag 13
Trekking zum Basislager des Spangnak Ri
Gehzeit: ca. 3-4 Stunden, Schlafhöhe: über 5.000m. F,M,A

Tag 14
Akklimatisierungstag
Wir verbringen den Tag mit einer Akklimatisierungswanderung, die uns auf die morgige Besteigung vorbereiten soll. F,M,A

Tag 15
Besteigung des Spangnak Ri
Gehzeit: ca. 10-12 Stunden, höchster Punkt: 6.380m. Sicheres Gehen mit Steigeisen unbedingt erforderlich. Der Berg ist technisch nicht schwierig, die Querung eines Gletschers erfordert jedoch eine gewisse Erfahrung im Hochgebirge. F,M,A

Tag 16
Trekking zur Straße und Fahrt nach Leh
Nach ein paar Stunden Wanderung zur Straße, treffen wir auf unsere Taxis, die uns wieder zurück nach Leh bringen (ca. 7 Stunden Fahrtzeit!). F,M,-

Die Region in der das Trekking stattfindet

Tag 17
Freizeit in Leh
Wozu haben Sie an Ihrem letzten Tag in Leh Lust? Einkaufen, Kaffee trinken, noch einmal Sightseeing oder einfach nur entspannen? Es bleibt Ihnen überlassen, wie Sie den letzten Tag verbringen wollen. F,-,A

Tag 18
Delhi
Nach Leh wird Ihnen Delhi, das Sie am Morgen anfliegen, laut und wenig angenehm begegnen. Doch gemeinsam erkunden wir heuten die spannenden Seiten Delhis. Wir besuchen das alte Delhi mit seiner reichen Kultur, entdecken geschäftige Märkte und eindrucksvolle Bauten. Am späten Abend bringen wir Sie dann zum Flughafen, von wo aus Sie in den frühen Morgenstunden des nächsten Tages nach Hause fliegen.F,-,-

Tag 19
Flug nach Hause


Preise und Termine

Eckdaten für Der Himmel der Nomaden als Gruppenreise:

  • Termin: 08.-26. August 2020
  • Preis: 1.790 EUR
  • Min/Max TN: 4/10
  • EZZ: 200 EUR

Eckdaten für Der Himmel der Nomaden als Individualreise:

  • Beste Reisezeit: Juli-September
  • Preis bei 1 Person: auf Anfrage
  • Preis bei 2-3 Personen:  1.990 EUR/Person
  • Preis ab 4 Personen:  1.790 EUR/Person
  • Preis ab 8 Personen: auf Anfrage
  • EZZ: 200 EUR


Leistungen

  • Services ab/bis Delhi
  • Unterkünfte im Gästehaus/Standardhotel mit Verpflegung lt. Detailprogramm / Unterbringung im Doppelzimmer
  • Reiseleitung durch englischsprachigen lokalen Guide
  • Sämtliche Fahrten/Transfers lt. Programm
  • Trekkingsupport mit Koch/Helfer/Pferden
  • Camping-Equipment exkl. Schlafsack
  • Besteigungs-Equipment auf Anfrage
  • Alle Eintritte und Permits (inkl. Besteigungspermit)

 

Nicht inkludiert

  • Internationale Flüge nach Delhi (können gerne vermittelt werden)
  • Flüge Delhi-Leh-Delhi (können auch gerne vermittelt werden)
  • Reiseversicherung
  • Trinkgelder
  • Getränke
  • Visum für Indien
  • Impfungen
  • Schlafsack
  • Zusätzliche Kosten, die durch Krankheit, Unfall, Routenänderung aufgrund von höherer Gewalt usw. entstehen
  • Zusatzkosten, die durch Flugausfälle oder –verschiebungen entstehen


Als Individualreise

Die Terminwahl obliegt Dir, gerne sind wir aber behilflich den für Dich passenden Zeitraum zu finden.

Selbstverständlich kannst Du die Reise auch an Deine Bedürfnisse anpassen lassen: verlängern, verkürzen oder verändern! Wir sind für (fast) alles offen.

Gerne bieten wir die Riese auch für Einzelreisende an. Wir bitten jedoch um Einverständnis, dass wir unter Umständen zur Hauptreisezeit davon absehen müssen.

Zur Reiseanmeldung

 

 

Diese Reise könnte dich auch interessieren

(c) Barbara EsserLadakh, Spiti & mehr: Über den Parang La von Ladakh nach Spiti
Trekkingreise; max. 10 TN

Termine und Preise verfügbar

Diese Tour kann auch individuell gebucht werden

 

 

Wenn du Fragen zu dieser Reise hast, kannst du uns hier schreiben

Name (Pflichtfeld)

E-Mail-Adresse (Pflichtfeld)

Telefonnummer

Betreff

Nachricht

*Ich stimme zu, dass meine eingegebenen Daten für den Zeitraum der Bearbeitung - nämlich zur Beantwortung meiner Anfrage und Information über angefragte Produkte und Services - gespeichert und verarbeitet werden. Meine Daten werden nicht länger als drei Monate gespeichert. Und sollte die Bearbeitung meines Anliegens insgesamt länger dauern, so werden meine Daten spätestens mit Abschluss der Bearbeitung gelöscht.