Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka || ශ්‍රී ලංකා
Island of Diversity

Fakten & Zahlen

Wappen Sri LankasCapital: Sri Jayawardendepura (legally speaking), Colombo (in practice)
Government: Republic
Currency: Sri-Lanka-Rupee (LKR)
Official languages: Sinhala and Tamil
Religions: Buddhists (about 70%), Hindus (about 13%), Muslims (about 10%), Christians (about 7%)
Area: 65.610 km²
Population: 22 Millions
spacer

spacer

Sri Lanka is located in the Indian Ocean, southeast of India, from which it is separated by the Palk Strait and the Gulf of Mannar. The coral islands that shape the so called Adams Bridge represent a loose link between Sri Lanka and the Indian state of Tamil Nadu.
spacer
Sri Lanka, formerly known as Ceylon, can be divided into three different landscapes: the central highlands with its famous tea cultivation areas and up to 2.500 m high mountains, lowland plains made fertile centuries ago by artificial irrigation, and the coastal regions abundant in fisheries and palm beaches.

spacer
The central highland in the southern part of Sri Lanka is the heart of the country. In its core lies a 65 kilometer long plateau. The highest elevation of the country is the Pidurutalagala (2.524 m). Two mountain ranges divide the island, one of which extends 50 km to the east to the Namunakula (2.036 m), the other 50 km to the west and ending at the Sri Pada (2.243 m). To the west and the east, the center of the highlands borders two plateaus; to the north and south there are further mountains, separated from the center by deep by valleys. The 240-meter-high Bambarakanda Falls are the highest waterfalls in Sri Lanka.

spacer
8
spacer
However, most of the island consists of enormous tropical plains, 30 to 200 meters above sea level. The transition from the plains to the central highland is abrupt: the mountains look and act like a wall. The plain to the north and east is especially flat and is divided by narrow granite ridges that protrude from the highlands.

spacer
The island is surrounded by a coastal belt 30 meters above sea level. The coasts of Sri Lanka consist mostly of sandy beaches.

spacer

Climate

Sri Lanka’s climate is tropical with different precipitation rates. The country is characterized by a warm climate with mild sea breezes and high humidity. The average temperatures range from 16°C in Nuwara Eliya in the central highlands (where you could even find snow and frost in winter), to 32°C in Trincomalee on the northeast coast of the country. The average annual temperature for the entire country is between 28 and 30 degrees Celsius. The coldest month is January, and May is the warmest.

klima_colombo

The southwest of Sri Lanka is rather humid with maximum precipitations during May and October.

klima_trincomalee

Precipitations on the northeast and east coast is minimal, since the central highlands block and capture most of the rainfall. There, most of the precipitations occur when the monsoon hits, usually in November and December.

The precipitation pattern is influenced by the monsoon winds. From mid-May to October, southwest winds bring moisture from the Indian Ocean. When these winds hit the central highlands, violent rainstorms hit the mountains and the southwest of the country. The east and northeast of the island get little rain during this time. In the second season, from October to November, periodic gusts of wind and sometimes cyclones make for a rather gloomy weather in the island. In the third season, from December to March, the northeast monsoon brings moisture from the Gulf of Bengal to the north and northeast of the country. The last season, from March to mid-May, brings little rain.

spacer

When to travel

Due to the compartmentalized aspect of Sri Lanka’s climate, the best time to travel depends on each particular region of the island. This makes Sri Lanka a great travel destination all year round.
From March to about the end of September, it is best to travel east, north and the cultural triangle. From December to the end of April, the south and west coasts, as well as the highlands, are a better choice. There are only two months then, which aren’t as good for visiting the country: October and November.

Attention: Of course, the weather does not always adhere to these rules and can then be quite different than expected!

spacer

What to do in Sri Lanka?

Even though the island itself is not too big, there is a great variety of activities to enjoy, ranging from water sports to cycling and hiking trips, from wild-nature safaris to cultural tours focusing on the history and religion of the country, from wellness and Ayurveda holidays to full-on beach time vacations and culinary tours. The island has also much to offer for families. Even small children will be delighted here.
spacer

Getting in

Citizens of the EU and Switzerland need a visa, which is to be electronically applied for. Normally you get a reply within 5 days of your application. The visa is valid for a maximum of 30 days, within a period of 90 days. The time doesn’t need to be continuous: multiple entrances are allowed. Here is the link to the application page: Link to the ETA

spacer

Food and drinks in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka is particularly known for its spicy cuisine. Chili is one of its main ingredients, always included in all rice and curry dishes. For non-vegetarians, dishes with chicken and fish are especially popular. In addition, there is a high number of exotic fruits native to the island.
Eating with your hands is the custom. If you want to eat the local way, make sure to use the right hand: taking the food with the left hand is considered unclean.
Please, take care of the portions, and always serve only as much as you can eat: leaving something on the plate is rude.
Sri Lanka, of course, is also a tea country and so tea, after water, is the most important liquid “food”.

spacer

Cultural aspects

Please pay particular attention to religious regulations: dress appropriately when visiting temples, and behave respectfully. Shoulders and knees should be covered. It is absolutely frowned upon to turn your back to a Buddha statue to take a photograph (“selfie” or otherwise). Even Buddhist-inspired tattoos are no joke for the authorities in Sri Lanka: it is better to cover such skin motifs and symbols (you should be especially careful to keep them covered when entering the country).

spacer

Medical advice

No special vaccines are required to travel to Sri Lanka. However, vaccinating against hepatitis, diphtheria, polio, tetanus and typhus is recommended. Please inform yourself and ask at your local Institute of Tropical Medicine, Health Office or personal doctor before flying! In some regions where malaria and dengue are not uncommon you should, among other things, protect against mosquito bites. A personal travel medical kit, equipped with special medication for the tropical ailments, is essential and will make things much easier in case of illness. The heat shouldn’t be underestimated either. Frequently washing your hands and avoiding unpeeled, raw fruit and vegetables – even in salads – can prevent diarrheal diseases.

spacer

Safety

Due to the conflicts between the Tamils and the Sinhalese, which have been ongoing for several years, there are some minefields in the north of the country, and this region can only be visited with official permission.

Apart from this, Sri Lanka is a relatively safe country with comparatively minor crime. However, we advise women to be more cautious when traveling alone to Sri Lanka: as in other countries, there may also be sexual assaults in Sri Lanka.

spacer

Special regulations

– Smuggling and/or possession (!) of drugs is punished with the death penalty.
– Same-sex relationships are illegal. Public shows of affection should therefore be avoided.
– On the coasts of Sri Lanka there are sometimes dangerous sea currents. It is absolutely necessary to be aware of and comply with the signs and bans.

Travel with us to Sri Lanka!



You can browse through our tour suggestions to find your dream trip to Sri Lanka, or simply write us your own travel wishes.
spacer
Tell us as much as you can about your desired trip, and we will be happy to send you an individual travel proposal.



    Our travel suggestions for Sri Lanka

    Click through our travels. These are just suggestions and do not have to necessarily remain as we present them. We will be happy to tailor them to your personal needs.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka || ශ්‍රී ලංකා
Insel der Vielfalt

Fakten & Zahlen

Wappen Sri LankasHauptstadt: Sri Jayawardendepura (rechtlich gesehen), Colombo (in der Praxis)
Staatsform: Republik
Währungen: Sri-Lanka-Rupie (LKR)
Amtssprachen: Sinhala und Tamil
Religionen: Buddhisten (ca. 70%), Hindus (ca. 13%), Muslime (ca. 10%), Christen (ca. 7%)
Fläche: 65.610 km²
Einwohner: 22 Millionen
spacer

spacer

Sri Lanka liegt im Indischen Ozean südöstlich von Indien. Von dort ist es durch die Palkstraße und den Golf von Mannar getrennt. Die Korallenfelsinseln der Adamsbrücke stellen eine lose Verbindung zwischen Sri Lanka und dem indischen Bundesstaat Tamil Nadu dar.
spacer
Sri Lanka, ehemals als Ceylon bekannt, kann in drei verschiedene Landschaften eingeteilt werden: zentrales Hochland mit den berühmten Teeanbaugebieten und bis zu 2500m hohen Bergen, Tieflandebenen, die schon vor Jahrhunderten durch künstliche Bewässerung fruchtbar gemacht wurden und den Küstenbereich mit Fischerei und Palmenstränden.
spacer
Das zentrale Hochland im südlichen Zentrum Sri Lankas ist das Herz des Landes. Im Kern des Hochlandes liegt ein in 65km langes Hochplateau. Höchste Erhebung des Landes ist der Pidurutalagala (2.524m). Zwei Gebirgsmassive bestimmen die Insel, das eine erstreckt sich 50km in den Osten hin zum Namunakula (2.036m), das andere ebenfalls 50km in den Westen hin zum Sri Pada (2.243m). Im Westen und Osten grenzt das Zentrum des Hochlandes an zwei Plateaus; im Norden und Süden liegen weitere Gebirge, die jeweils durch Täler vom Zentrum getrennt sind. Die 240 Meter hohen Bambarakanda-Wasserfälle sind die höchsten Wasserfalle Sri Lankas.

spacer
8
spacer
Der größte Teil der Insel besteht jedoch aus großen tropischen Ebenen, die 30-200m über dem Meeresspiegel liegen. Der Übergang von der Ebene zum zentralen Hochland ist abrupt, sodass das Gebirge wie eine Wand wirkt. Die Ebene im Norden und im Osten ist flach und von engen Granitgraten in Richtung Hochland zergliedert.
spacer
Die Insel wird von einem 30 Meter über dem Meeresspiegel liegenden Küstengürtel umschlossen. Die Küsten Sri Lankas bestehen zumeist aus Sandstränden.

spacer

Klima

Das Klima Sri Lankas ist tropisch mit unterschiedlichen Niederschlagsverhältnissen. Das Land zeichnet sich durch ein warmes Klima mit milden Meeresbrisen und hoher Luftfeuchtigkeit aus. Die Durchschnittstemperaturen reichen von 16 Grad Celsius in Nuwara Eliya im zentralen Hochland (wo es im Winter sogar Schnee und Frost geben kann) bis zu 32 Grad Celsius in Trincomalee an der Nordostküste des Landes. Die Durchschnittsjahrestemperatur für das gesamte Land liegt zwischen 28 Grad Celsius bis 30 Grad Celsius. Der kälteste Monat ist der Januar und der Mai der wärmste.

klima_colombo

Der Südwesten Sri Lankas ist eher feucht mit Niederschlagsmaxima im Mai und Oktober.

 

klima_trincomalee

Die Nordost- und Ostküste hat nur geringe Niederschläge, da sich dieser Bereich im Lee des zentralen Gebirges befindet. Dort fallen die meisten Niederschläge während des Nordostmonsuns im November und Dezember.

Das Niederschlagsmuster wird durch die Monsunwinde beeinflusst. Von Mitte Mai bis Oktober bringen Südwestwinde Feuchtigkeit aus dem Indischen Ozean. Wenn diese Winde auf das zentrale Hochland treffen, entstehen heftige Regenschauer am Gebirge und im Südwesten des Landes. Der Osten und der Nordosten der Insel bekommen in dieser Zeit wenig Regen. In der zweiten Jahreszeit von Oktober bis November treten periodische Windböen und manchmal auch Zyklone auf, die trübes Wetter zur Insel bringen. In der dritten Jahreszeit, von Dezember bis März, bringt der Nordostmonsun Feuchtigkeit aus dem Golf von Bengalen in den Norden und Nordosten des Landes. Die letzte Jahreszeit von März bis Mitte Mai bringt wenig Niederschlag.

spacer

Reisezeit

Aufgrund der unterschiedlichen Wirkung des Klima auf die Insel, ergibt sich auch je nach Region eine andere gute Reisezeit. Damit lässt sich Sri Lanka auch ganzjährig recht gut bereisen.

Von März bis etwa Ende September reist es sich am besten im Osten, Norden und im Kulturdreieck. Von Dezember bis Ende April bereist man besser die Süd- und Westküste, als auch das Hochland. Es bleiben zwei Monate, die eher nicht so toll zum Bereisen des Landes geeignet sind: Oktober und November.

Achtung: Natürlich hält sich das Wetter nicht immer an diese Regeln und kann dann tatsächlich ganz anders als erwartet sein.

spacer

Was tun in Sri Lanka?

Auch wenn die Insel nicht allzu groß ist, ergeben sich hier eine große Vielfalt an Aktivitäten. Das reicht vom Wassersport hin zu Rad- und Wanderreisen, über Safaris, Reisen mit Schwerpunkt auf die Kultur und Religion des Landes hin zu Wellness- und Ayurvedaurlauben, reinen Badeurlauben und kulinarischen Genießertouren. Auch für Familien hat die Insel viel zu bieten. Selbst kleinere Kinder werden hier begeistert sein.

spacer

Einreise

BürgerInnen der EU und der Schweiz benötigen zur Einreise ein Visum, das elektronisch zu beantragen ist. Normalerweise bekommt man ein Feedback innerhalb von 5 Tagen nach Beantragung. Das Visum gilt für maximal 30 Tage innerhalb eines Zeitraums von 90 Tagen. Eine mehrfache Einreise ist erlaubt. Der Link zur Antragstellung: Link zum ETA

spacer

Essen und Trinken in Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka ist besonders für seine scharfe Küche bekannt – Chili gehört zu den Hauptzutaten. Das muss in alle Reis- und Currygerichte. Für Nichtvegetarier locken insbesondere Gerichte mit Huhn und Fisch. Daneben gibt es eine Reihe von exotischen Früchten, die auf der Insel wachsen.

Gegessen wird mit den Händen – wenn du dies also nachmachen willst, achte darauf die rechte Hand dafür zu nehmen und die linke aus dem Spiel zu lassen. Die gilt nämlich als unrein.

Gib bitte immer nur so viel auf den Teller, wie du essen kannst, etwas übrigzulassen gilt als unhöflich.

Sri Lanka ist natürlich auch ein Tee-Land und somit der Tee, neben dem Wasser, wichtigste flüssige „Nahrung“.

spacer

Kulturelle Besonderheiten

Bitte beachte besonders religiöse Vorschriften: Kleide dich angemessen bei Besuchen von Tempeln und verhalte dich bitte respektvoll. Schultern und Knie sollten bedeckt sein. Absolut verpönt ist es, sich mit dem Rücken zu einer Buddhastatue fotografieren zu lassen. Und auch bei Tattoos mit buddhistischen Motiven kennen die Behörden Sri Lankas keine Scherze: Solche Motive auf der Haut sind am besten zu verhüllen (besonders bei der Einreise solltest du diese nicht zeigen).

spacer

Medizinische Hinweise

Es werden für die Einreise nach Sri Lanka keine speziellen Impfungen verlangt. Empfohlen sind allerdings Impfungen gegen Hepatitis, Diphtherie, Polio, Tetanus und Typhus. Bitte informieren Sie sich rechtzeitig beim tropenmedizinischen Institut, beim Gesundheitsamt oder beim Hausarzt! In einigen Regionen treten u. a. Malaria und Dengue-Fieber auf – hier gilt es, sich vor Mückenstichen zu schützen. Eine persönliche Reiseapotheke mit eigenen Medikamenten ist unbedingt erforderlich und erleichtert das Handeln im Krankheitsfall. Auch die Hitze darf nicht unterschätzt werden. Häufiges Händewaschen und der Verzicht auf ungeschältes, rohes Obst und Gemüse – auch in Salaten – kann Durchfallerkrankungen vorbeugen.

spacer

Sicherheit

Der Norden des Landes mit seinen Minenfeldern aufgrund der bereits einige Jahre zurückliegenden Konflikte zwischen Tamilen und Singhalesen darf nur mit behördlicher Genehmigung bereist werden.

Abgesehen davon ist Sri Lanka ein relativ sicheres Reiseland mit vergleichsweise geringer Kriminalität. Frauen raten wir jedoch zu erhöhter Vorsicht, wenn sie vorhaben Sri Lanka allein zu bereisen. Wie auch in anderen Ländern, kann es auch in Sri Lanka aufgrund zu sexuellen Übergriffen kommen.

spacer

Besondere Bestimmungen

– Auf Schmuggel und auch Besitz (!) von Drogen steht die Todesstrafe.
– Gleichgeschlechtliche Beziehungen sind illegal. Öffentliche Zuneigungsbekundungen sollten daher vermieden werden.
– An den Küsten Sri Lankas gibt es zum Teil gefährliche Meeresströmungen. Badeverboten soll unbedingt Folge geleistet werden.

Komm mit uns nach Sri Lanka!



Du kannst in unseren Tourenvorschlägen stöbern, um nach deiner Traumreise nach Sri Lanka zu suchen, oder du kannst uns einfach deine Reisewünsche schreiben.
spacer
Wenn du uns möglichst viel darüber schreibst, wie du dir deine Reise vorstellt, schicken wir dir gerne deinen ganz individuellen Reisevorschlag.


    Unsere Reisevorschläge für Sri Lanka

    Klick dich durch unsere Reisen. Es sind nur Vorschläge, die nicht so bleiben müssen, wie wir sie vorstellen. Gerne passen wir sie deinen Wünschen an.