spacer

When hearing the word Ayurveda, many people automatically think about relaxing oil massages and traditional sitar and tabla sounds in the background. Something soul-cleansing, the touch of expert hands and soothing music caressing a tired body and a stress-riddled mind. No one thinks of enemas, strict diets or full-time schedules and long lists of rules. That’s certainly not as romantic, but Ayurveda is so much more than just a wellness program. It is a guide for life. A whole philosophy.

ayurveda-script

Ayurveda is a composite term formed by combining two Sanskrit words: Ayus and Veda. Ayus means and accounts for life, while Veda represents knowledge. Ayurveda then can be translated as “the science of life”, and it is a method and a way to live happily and healthy. Ayurveda is much more than just a few oily strokes on a tense back: it is a complex and detailed program that leads to a better and healthier lifestyle.

Ayurveda is also not an esoteric humbug made up just to trick a few euros out of gullible purses, but one of the oldest sciences in the world, fully dedicated to pursue human health and both understand and eradicate disease. Ayurveda takes a holistic approach to health, and comprises all the many aspects of human well-being:  physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.

spacer

Kapha . Pitta . Vata

3 Principles of Life

2000px-ayurveda_humors-svg

Man is defined by three doshas (life principles). These three doshas are organized in a personalized way for each individual human being. Usually one or two doshas are more dominant or pronounced, but sometimes all three may be influential in approximately the same manner. The human being is healthy when the three doshas are in balance. This equilibrium, however, does not mean that all three are equally strong: each person has his or her own Prakriti – a natural constitution or state, a personal balance – which must be maintained. If one or more doshas become unbalanced, the person becomes ill, and one speaks of the Vikriti – a state of disease – which is to be treated.

The three doshas are called Kapha, Pitta and Vata and each is characterized by different properties and principles. They are also determined by the 5 elements.

• Kapha: principle of stability/structure; Elements: earth + water
• Pitta: principle of fire/mutability; Elements: water + fire
• Vata: principle of motion; Elements: air + ether

To determine the constitution of an individual is a very complicated matter, which requires a very precise and long anamnesis, and one should therefore turn to an experienced person. Nevertheless, it is possible to find several “ayurvedic” questionnaires on the internet that claim accuracy despite comprising just a few generic questions. The results of such online tests are at the very least questionable, but sometimes it can be fun to play …

 

spacer

Diet: Food is medicine

In Ayurveda, the diet plays a very important role. “You are what you eat” is one of its highest principles. Through our diet we are able to keep our doshas balanced, and when the diet is inappropriate the equilibrium between them is lost and we become ill. For example, a Pitta personality, which is basically a person very much determined by the element fire, will get eventually problems if she regularly eats very spicy food.

All food can be described and categorized according to the 6 fundamental tastes (rasas):

•sweet
•salty
•sour
•astringent
•bitter
•pungent/spicy

Kapha should focus on astringent, bitter, and spicy foods and omit sweet, salty and sour ones.

Pitta should swerve away from salty, sour, and spicy foods, and focus on those sweet, bitter and astringent.

Vata in turn can eat sweet, sour and salty without problems, and should minimize consumption of the other three.

But since we are often also mixed types, it is not always so simple, and we need help from an expert. Or you have to learn to properly listen to your own body. Unfortunately, many people have forgotten how to do that.

 

spacer

img_0857

spacer

Quick tips for a better life

Although Ayurveda advises against generalizations, there are a few commonplace rules that can do a lot of good:

•eat with a plan, not randomly
•eat again only after the last meal has been properly digested (approx. 4 hours)
•lunch should be the most important meal of the day, since the digestive tract works at its best at this time
•eat calmly and focus your mind on the food
•do not eat more than two handfuls
•warm, cooked, fresh food is always preferable to cold, raw food
•drink boiled, lukewarm water (do not drink cold water)
•never eat too late (at least 2-3 hours before going to bed)
•the dinner should be light and easily digestible (no raw food in the evening)
•do not go to sleep too late – the body recovers better between 22:00 and 2:00 o’clock in the morning
•no daytime sleep (resting is ok)

We would like to continue giving you some ayurvedic tips in the next few blog posts. So check back often, or follow us on Facebook, where you can be instantly notified whenever we publish a new tip! Follow us on Facebook!

spacer

More Ayurveda & Yoga

ai7a4800Take a look at our Ayurveda and Yoga resorts, where you can get professional support on your way to a healthier and happier life. These are not mere wellness temples, but well-run resorts with authentic Ayurveda treatments and Yoga classes. You can be confident you will be in good hands.

To our Ayurveda- & Yoga-Resorts

spacer

Viele denken beim Wort Ayurveda an entspannte Öl-Massagen begleitet von indischen Sitar- und Tablaklängen. Etwas Feines für die Seele, ein paar Streicheleinheiten für den stressgeplagten Körper und Geist. An Einläufe, Diätvorschriften, Verhaltensmaßnahmen, denkt dabei kaum einer. Ist dann ja auch gleich weniger romantisch. Dabei ist ist Ayurveda so viel mehr als nur ein Wellness-Programm. Es ist eine Anleitung fürs Leben. Eine ganze Philosophie.

ayurveda-script

Ayurveda setzt sich aus den beiden Sanskrit-Wörtern Ayus und Veda zusammen. Dabei heißt Ayus soviel wie Leben und Veda ist das Wissen. Kurzum es geht um die Wissenschaft rund um das Leben, darum wie man es glücklich und gesund lebt. Das ist Ayurveda. Also viel mehr als nur ein paar ölige Streicheleinheiten, sondern ein tiefgreifendes Programm zu einer besseren und gesünderen Lebensführung.

Ayurveda ist auch kein esoterischer Humbug, den man sich ausgedacht hat, um Sinnsuchenden ein paar Euro aus der Tasche zu ziehen, sondern eine der ältesten Wissenschaften der Welt, die sich auf die menschliche Gesundheit und Krankheit mit allen ihren physischen, mentalen, emotionalen und spirituellen Aspekte konzentriert. Damit hat Ayurveda einen ganzheitlichen Anspruch.

spacer

Kapha . Pitta . Vata

3 Lebensprinzipien

2000px-ayurveda_humors-svg

Der Mensch wird von drei Doshas (Lebensprinzipien) bestimmt. Bei jedem Menschen setzen sich diese drei Doshas ganz individuell zusammen. Meist sind ein oder zwei Doshas stärker ausgeprägt, manchmal aber können auch alle drei ungefähr gleich ausgeprägt sein. Der Mensch ist gesund, wenn die drei Doshas sich im Geichgewicht befinden. Dieses Gleichgewicht heißt aber nicht, dass alle drei gleich stark ausgeprägt sind, sondern jeder Mensch hat eine ihm eigene Prakriti – eine natürliche Konstitution, sein ihm eigenes Gleichgewicht, das es gilt zu behalten. Gerät eines oder mehrere Doshas ins Ungleichgewicht, wird der Mensch krank, dann spricht man von der Vikriti – die krankheitsbedingte Konstitution -, die es gilt zu behandeln.

Die drei Doshas sind Kapha, Pitta und Vata und zeichnen sich durch verschiedene Eigenschaften und Prinzipien aus. Auch werden sie von den 5 Elementen bestimmt.

  • Kapha: Prinzip der Stabilität/Struktur; Elemente: Erde + Wasser
  • Pitta: Prinzip des Feuers/Stoffwechseln; Elemente: Wasser + Feuer
  • Vata: Prinzip der Bewegung; Elemente: Luft + Äther

Die Konstitution zu bestimmen ist eine sehr komplizierte Sache, das bedarf einer sehr genauen und langen Anamnese und man sollte sich dafür auch an eine erfahrene Person wenden. Trotzdem findet man online diverse Konstitionsfragebögen, dessen Ergebnisse jedoch als fragwürdig anzusehen sind. Sowas kann man aber ruhig mal zum Spaß machen …

spacer

Ernährung: Essen ist Medizin

Im Ayurveda spielt die Ernährung eine sehr große Rolle. „Du bist, was du isst“ ist eines der höchsten Prinzipien. Über die Ernährung können wir unsere Doshas ganz gut im Gleichgewicht halten, falsche Ernährung dahingegen bringt die Doshas durcheinander und löst dadurch Krankheiten aus. Beispielsweise wird eine Pitta-Persönlichkeit, die schon grundsätzlich eine sehr durch das Element Feuer bestimmte Person ist, auf Dauer große Probleme bekommen, wenn sie sehr scharf isst.

Alle Nahrungsmittel können entsprechend der 6 Geschmacksrichtungen (rasa) bestimmt werden:

  • süß
  • salzig
  • sauer
  • zusammenziehend
  • bitter
  • scharf

Kapha sollte sich auf zusammenziehende, bittere und scharfe Speisen konzentrieren und süß, salzig und sauer weglassen.

Pitta sollte auf salzig, sauer und scharf verzichten und süß, zusammenziehend und bitter verstärkt essen.

Vata dahingegen darf süß, sauer und salzig essen und sollte die anderen drei eher minimieren.

Weil wir aber oft auch Mischtypen sind, ist es nicht immer ganz so einfach, deswegen brauchen wir da auch etwas Hilfe. Oder man muss lernen viel auf seinen Körper zu hören. Aber leider haben viele Menschen verlernt, was ihnen gut tut.

spacer

img_0857

spacer

Schnelle Tipps für ein besseres Leben

 

Auch wenn man im Ayurveda wenig von Verallgemeinerungen hält, so gibt es doch ein paar allgemein gültige Regeln, die einem gleich sehr gut tun:

  • regelmäßig essen
  • erst wieder essen, wenn die letzte Mahlzeit verdaut wurde (ca. 4 Stunden Abstand)
  • das Mittagessen sollte die wichtigste Mahlzeit sein, da das Verdauungsfeuer dann am besten funktioniert
  • iss in Ruhe und mit dem Geist auf das Essen konzentriert
  • iss nie mehr als zwei Hände voll
  • warmes, gekochtes, frisches Essen ist kalter, roher Kost immer zu bevorzugen
  • abgekochtes Wasser trinken (kein kaltes Wasser trinken)
  • nie zu spät essen (mindestens 2 Stunden vor dem Schlafengehen)
  • das Abendessen sollte leicht und gut verdaulich sein (keine Rohkost am Abend)
  • nicht zu spät schlafen gehen – der Körper erneuert sich am Besten zwischen 22 und 2 Uhr morgens
  • kein Tagschlaf (Rasten ist allerdings erlaubt)

 

Wir möchten euch in den nächsten Blog-Beiträgen immer wieder auch ein paar ayurvedische Tipps geben. Also schaut immer wieder mal rein, oder folgt uns auf Facebook, dann seid ihr laufend informiert: Folge uns auf Facebook!

spacer

Mehr Ayurveda & Yoga

ai7a4800Schau dir auch unsere Ayurveda- und Yoga-Resorts an, da bekommst du professionelle Unterstützung auf dem Weg zu einem gesünderen und zufriedenerem Leben. Das sind keine bloßen Wellness-Tempel, sondern gut geführte Resorts mit authentischem Ayurvedabehandlungen und Yoga-Kursen. Da darf man sich getrost in guten Händen fühlen.

Zu den Ayurveda- & Yoga-Resorts